The attractive 7-arch bridge was built in 1320 by Maurice Jakis and the castle which dominates the river is known as the Black Castle. In 1181 Lord Hugh de Lacy built the first castle here to defend the strategic crossing of the River Barrow after taking the surrounding lands from Irish clans. In 1320 the First “Black Castle” was built. There are no visible remains of either of these two castles. The ruin on the site today is reported to have been built by Sir Edward Bellingham, Lord Deputy of Ireland, in 1547. The castle was destroyed by Cromwellian forces under Colonel Hewson in 1650 during the Irish Confederate Wars.
Despite all that, Leighlinbridge remains a charming traditional Irish village with several pubs & shops.
At nearby Old Leighlin (across the main road) is the lovely 13th century St Lazerian’s Cathedral. There are building remains from as far back as the 5th century here so it was always an important religious centre. A synod held here in 630 A.D. was decisive in ‘reconciling’ the Celtic & Christian date of Easter for the Irish church, at the behest of the Pope.
Self Catering Houses in Leighlinbridge